Citadel of Qait Bey, Ras el-Tin (yellow tram #25), ? +20-3-4809144. One of the icons of the city at a beautiful location, the fortress overlooks the Merranean Sea and the city itself. Built by Mameluke Sultan Abdul-Nasser Qait Bey in 1477 AD but razed and reconstructed twice since.This citadel was built in 1480 by Sultan Qaitbey on the site of the Pharos Lighthouse, to protect the city from the crusaders who used to attack the city by sea. LE 20.
Cemetery of Mostafa Kamel. The cemetery includes four tombs dating from the second century BC, all of which are in excellent condition and beautifully decorated. The cemetery bears the name of Mostafa Kamel, one of Egypt's largest political twentieth century legends. It was he who pronounced the famous phrase: "If I was not born as an Egyptian, I would like to be an Egyptian."
Roman Catacombs, Kom-el-Shuqqafa. -17:00. A stunning set of catacombs with a fascinating mix of Roman and Egyptian iconography. Best viewed early in the morning or late afternoon when no one else is around. Shoes that can get muddy. Some guides recommend a flashlight but this is not necessary. LE 25.
Pompey's Pillar, Karmouz. An ancient monument, this 25-meter-high granite column was constructed in honor of the Emperor Diocletian in AD 297. The confined area where the column stands has also other ruins and sculptures. The area seems mostly to be visited by Europeans.Also beside this area very big shopping for cloth and furniture equipments called " El-Saa3a" where u can fine many types of cloth or clothes LE 15.
Roman Theatre, Kom El-Dikka, ? +20-3-3902904. Built in the 2nd century AD, this Roman amphitheater has 13 semicircular tiers made of white and gray marble, with marble seats for up to 800 spectators, galleries and sections of mosaic-flooring. In Ptolemaic times this area was the Park of Pan, a pleasure garden surrounded by Roman villas and baths. LE 15/2 foreigner/Egyptian.
Montaza Palace, El Montaza, ? +20-3-5477153 or +20-3- 5473056. Built in 1892 by Abbas II of Egypt Abbas Hilmi Pasha, the last khedive of Egypt. One of the palace buildings, the Haramlek, now contains a casino on the ground floor and a museum of royal relics on the upper levels, while the Salamlek has been converted into a luxury hotel (see Sleep). Parts of the extensive gardens (over 200 acres) are open to the public. There is a entrance fee for the park.
Alexandria National Museum, Raml station, ? +20-3-4835519 or +20-3- 4838035. .History Museum with more than 1800 archaeological pieces exhibited chronologically: the basement is devoted to Prehistoric and Pharonic times; first floor to the Graeco-Roman period; second floor to the Coptic and Islamic era that highlights artifacts raised during recent underwater excavations.
Graeco-Roman Museum, Raml station, ? +20-3-4865820 or +20-3-4876434. Closed. A history museum with a vast collection mostly dating from the 3rd century BC to the 3rd century AD, spanning the Ptolemaic and Roman periods. Closed for renovation in 2008 and for three years.
Museum of Fine Arts, Moharram Bey, ? +20-3-3936616. It contains a lot of royal and precious jewels.
National Institute For Oceanography & Fisheries, El Anfoushy (beside Qait Bey), ? +20-3-4801499. Aquarium and museum displays.
Royal Jewelry Museum, zezenia, ? +20-3-5828348. It contains a lot of royal and precious jewels. Unfortunately it has been closed for renovation since 2005
Attarine Mosque, El Attarin.
Abou el-Abbas al-Mursi mosque, Bahary. Built in 1775 by Algerians, the mosque was built over the tomb of the thirteenth century Sufi saint Andalusan Murcia, Ahmed Abu al-Abbas al-Mursi (Abul Abbas). The walls of the mosque are dressed in artificial stone, while the minaret, located on the south side, stands at 73 metres.
Greek Orthodox Church of Alexandria, Mansheya, . The head church of the Greek Orthodox Patriarchate of Alexandria and All Africa.
Saint Mark's Coptic Orthodox Cathedral, Mahatet El Raml, . Founded in 60 AD and the historical seat of the Pope of Alexandria, although in 1971 — after nearly 2000 years here — the seat was moved the Hanging Church in Coptic Cairo. Saint Mark the Evangelist (yes, the one who wrote the Gospel of Mark) founded the church and was buried here, but the body was stolen by the Venetians in 828 to be enshrined in St. Mark's Basilica in Venice. The head was kept though, and its shroud was ritually changed by every new Patriach, but it too was later lost. Not much of this history remains today: the cathedral has been rebuilt at least five times and the present building dates from 1952.
Bibliotheca Alexandrina, East of the Corniche,. Open daily except Tuesday 11 AM to 7:00 PM, but opens only at 3 PM on Friday and Saturday. .A huge modern library and research center constructed on the site of the former Library of Alexandria (see History). It has also a big conference center and a planetarium. LE 10 (non-Egyptians).
Corniche. The Corniche is a glorious 15km walkway (wharf/pier/boardwalk) along the harbour dotted with restaurants, markets and historic sights.