This fort is located at a distance of 14kms. from Nagercoil. This was the vital military station of the Travancore rulers, when Padmanabapuram was capital of Travancore. It was stated to have been originally built in the year 1600 AD, and then Marthanda varma rebuilt it. It is stated that a brass gun of 16 feet long bored found inside the fort could not be moved even a few years by1200 persons with the help of 19 elephants.
East India company's troops were stationed there till the middle of the 19th century. The fort enclosed with an area of about 90 acres and contains an isolated hill, which afford a panaromic view of the surrounding area. The tombs of Dalhousie, his wife and his son can be seen, inside a partly ruined chapel inside of the fort.